Gluten Free


What is Gluten Free?


A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for coeliac disease. Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disease attacking the small intestine due to the presence of gluten.


The exact level at which gluten is harmless for people with coeliac disease is uncertain.


In patients with coeliac disease, gluten causes the immune system to attack the intestinal lining of the small intestine. Over time this then triggers the small intestine to lose the ability to absorb nutrients into the body, such as fiber and vitamins.


A gluten-free diet (GF diet) is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat (including kamut), barley, rye and triticale.


Gluten-free food is normally seen as a diet for coeliac disease, but people with a gluten allergy (an unrelated disease) should avoid wheat and related grains. Meat, fruits, vegetables, potato, and rice are gluten-free foods.


A gluten-free diet rules out all ordinary breads, pastas, and many convenience foods


A gluten-free diet allows for fresh fruits, vegetables, meats, and many dairy products. The diet allows rice, corn, soy, potato, tapioca, beans, sorghum, quinoa, millet, pure buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, teff, Montina, and nut flours and the diet prohibits the ingestion of wheat, barley, rye, and related components, including triticale, durum, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt, malt, malt flavouring, or malt vinegar.


Since ordinary wheat flour contains approximately 12% gluten, even a tiny amount of wheat flour can cross-contaminate a gluten-free product, therefore, considerable care must be taken to prevent cross-contamination in commercial and home food preparation.


At Home Kitchen we pride ourselves on the care taken to prevent cross contamination.

We also pride ourselves that our food tastes great and can be enjoyed by everyone.

















































































Created by mark